24 February 2011

A hierarchy of value

Scheler describes a hierarchy of value: 
  1. sinnliche Werte, or values of the senses and utility which register pleasure or pain; 
  2. Lebeswerte, or values of vitality or life, values "such as courage, bravery, readiness to sacrifice, daring, magnanimity, loyalty, humility ... or what is mean (gemein), such as cowardice, pusillanimity, self-seeking, small-mindedness, treachery and arrogance. Then comes the realm of the 
  3. geistige Werte, values of the intellect or spirit – principally justice, beauty and truth, with their opposites. The final realm is that of 
  4. das Heilige, the holy." (The Master and His Emissary, Iain McGilchrist, 2009; page 160).

No comments:

Post a Comment